top of page

Lucas County is located in Northwest Ohio on the Lake Erie coast, situated in the center of a trade area comprised of 16 counties in Northwestern Ohio and Southeastern Michigan in the Toledo Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). The County benefits from its logistical position at the center a triangle formed by the cities of Chicago, Detroit, and Cleveland.  Lucas County’s economy, historically associated with the glass and automotive industries, has become increasingly diversified, especially in the area of solar, alternative energy, and healthcare.  Lucas County remains the home of three of the nation’s largest glass companies (Owens Corning, Libbey Glass, and Pilkington North America), and a fourth, Owens-Illinois, is located within Metro Toledo.  Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA), General Motors Corporation, and Dana Inc. also continue to be major private sector employers.


The Lucas County Department of Planning and Development (LCDPD) integrates workforce and economic development into one agency. We are designed to simultaneously meet the needs of Lucas County job-seekers and businesses, offering programs that align the skill-sets of local workers with the needs of area companies. Through our business retention and expansion program, LCDPD works to strengthen all Lucas County businesses. By leveraging relationships with local, regional, and state-wide development partners, LCDPD can coordinate a range of services to promote the success of local businesses, such as site selection assistance, connection to financing tools, and technical assistance.



For more information on how we can help your business grow in Lucas County, please go to


Megan Vahey Casiere, Chief
Lucas County Planning & Development Department
One Government Center, Suite 800
Toledo, OH 43604

bottom of page